Author Topic: Needing Education on Black Phantoms  (Read 870 times)

Offline babycalfs

• Training Wheel
Needing Education on Black Phantoms
« on: March 25, 2022, 02:45:19 PM »
Hello,

I'm new to vintage bikes and recently posted on Reddit with some questions related to the 50s Black Phantom but I haven't gotten any responses yet. I just now found this community, which looks like a really good place to seek some specialized help from. So first off, hello and thanks in advance to anyone who can help or even takes the time to read this.

My grandfather was an avid collector of vintage bikes-- he had hundreds of them; he was a picker long before TV had shows about them.

He recently passed away at the age of 90 and, through a series of poor and impulsive choices, deciding members of my family have elected to sell his lifetime collection of antique bicycles as quickly as possible in a local auction. While family members are allowed to see them before the public, we are expected to bid and compete with a litany of local and national collectors that have been circling like vultures for decades if we want a piece of our grandfather's legacy.

I was fortunate enough to live next door to him, growing up around him tinkering with old bikes. His collection and the time that he spent restoring them has become a part of his legacy; and while saying goodbye is a natural part of life, in contrast to my family's behavior, I would like to try to salvage a few of his models because they were such an important part of his life.